Get a FREE Tarot reading using the Ukiyoe deck

New to Astrology or Tarot.com? Start Here!

Explore your cosmic makeup with a Free Astrology Birth Chart report to better understand yourself and improve your relationships.

2012 Astrology Year in Review

See how the stars played a part in the major events of 2012

Tarotcom Staff
2012 Astrology Year in Review

2012 was an eventful year for all of us, on both a personal and a global scale. Wild weather, political uprisings and economic shakeups rattled us all, and it's only the beginning of a period of profound change. Find out what's in store for you in 2013 with a Big Picture Yearly Astrology Forecast, and join us as we take a look back at the key Astrology events of 2012 and how they played out.

All year long
Sun approaches solar maximum

2012 has seen more solar activity that usual as the Sun approaches its solar max, which is the peak of its 11-year cycle. Earth experienced more solar flares than usual, and these fiery surges are known for disrupting power grids, GPS and airplane flights worldwide. But not only do solar flares affect Earth physically, they affect each of us on a deeply personal level. The Sun is our primary influence, shaping our character and moods on a daily basis. So if you felt a bit "off" in 2012, you can blame a large part of it on the Sun's solar cycle nearing solar max!

May 20, 2012
New Moon Solar Eclipse in Gemini

The turbo-charged New Moon Solar Eclipse in Gemini on May 20 was an event so powerful that it was pointed out by the ancient Maya as a rare occasion when the Earth, Sun, Moon, and Pleiades would align to create great forces of transformation. Many claim Nostradamus also referenced this date in his Quatrains, as well. Our own master astrologers called out this "annular eclipse" (when the Moon's diameter appears just slightly smaller than the Sun, making the Sun look like a ring), as a time of information overload, when our minds would become clouded as dreamy Neptune made a stressful square to the New Moon. A strong 6.0 magnitude earthquake struck northern Italy on this day -- will there be more to come as a part of these transformational times?

June 5, 2012
Sun conjunct Venus

It is one thing to feel the effects of Astrology, but it's quite another amazement when you can actually see it! On June 5, millions of people reached for their safety goggles to look up and watch as Venus passed between the Earth and the Sun. The love planet appeared as a small speck visible to the naked eye in this once-in-a-lifetime event, which won't happen again until 2117. This Venus-Sun conjunction was more than just great media -- it was great news for love and relationships, which were infused with new and positive energy around this time. Did you feel it?

June 24, 2012 and September 19, 2012
Uranus square Pluto

Master astrologers have been abuzz about Uranus square Pluto, as the two planets make an epic series of seven squares from 2012 to 2015. This series of seven exact squares between Uranus, the planet of radical change, and Pluto, the planet of transformation, signals a period of great change on a personal and global scale. The first of these exact squares took place on June 24 and Sept. 19, 2012, and we'll continue to be rattled by these two planets as we move into 2013 and beyond. The effect is an environment of revolution that will eventually lead to a whole new way of life. In 2012 we got a taste of the big changes to come, including housing, insurance and bank failures, the Occupy movement, the Tea Party, concern for the environment and overall economic uncertainty. Even Hostess went bankrupt, putting the future of the Twinkie in jeopardy. Stay tuned, it's going to be wild to watch!

October 29, 2012
Full Moon in Taurus

October's powerful Full Moon in Taurus hung overhead as Hurricane Sandy bore down on the East Coast of the United States, and at the same time there was a nasty square between Mercury, which rules transportation and communication, and Neptune, which rules water. This cosmic combination strengthened "Frankestorm" into a Category 2 superstorm that was the largest Atlantic hurricane on record, causing at least $20 billion in damage and killing at least 199 people in seven countries on the path of the storm. In New York City, the streets, tunnels and subway lines were flooded, and power was lost in and around the city. One of our own astrologers, Maria DeSimone, not only forewarned of this event, but her own house and car were damaged in the storm. We are grateful she and her loved ones are OK, and she is now busy rebuilding her life. We also give her permission to say "I told you so."

November 6 - 26, 2012
Mercury Retrograde

Mischievous planet Mercury was retrograde from Election Day on Nov. 6, 2012, through Thanksgiving, finally turning direct on November 26. Mercury Retrograde messes with communication, technology and transportation, which is not ideal when it comes to counting votes and traveling home for the holidays. Mercury put a backspin on most of November, and we saw its effects on Election Day with long lines and confusion at the polls. Among the Election Day news headlines was a story about a voting machine in Pennsylvania that kept choosing "Romney" even when the "Obama" button was pushed repeatedly. Thanksgiving holiday travel was also disrupted for many, and we suspect there was many an overcooked turkey.

December 21, 2012
Sun in Capricorn, Winter Solstice

No, December 21, 2012 was not the end of the world. It was just the end of a cycle in the Mayan calendar, but many people were frightened as the infamous date grew near. Of course, it turned out to be a slow news day. The Sun moved into Capricorn, marking the start of winter, but the headlines were fairly quiet and the world continued to spin. But as we move on into 2013, our astrologers do assure us we are living in transformational times. We are at a pivotal point in a shift in consciousness, and the next few years will be dramatic. Bring on 2013, we're ready!

Get key dates for 2013 with your personalized Big Picture Yearly Astrology Forecast »

    comments powered by Disqus