The Planet Pluto

Pluto is the planet of major transformation, representing the cycle of death and rebirth. It is responsible for breaking down the old to make room for the new. Pluto can also represent power and control, and reigns over our relationship to authority figures and leadership.

Nickname: Lord of the Underworld

Zodiac sign Pluto rules: Scorpio

Exalted in: N/A

House Pluto rules: 8th House of Depth and Intimacy

Pluto retrogrades: once every year, with each retrograde lasting five months

Pluto stays in each zodiac sign for: about 15 - 25 years

Pluto makes a complete trip through the zodiac: about every 250 years

Pluto was discovered in: 1930, by Clyde Tombaugh. In 2006, specifications were introduced for the word "planet," containing three main conditions a body must meet to be considered a planet. Pluto did not meet one of these conditions and was therefore downgraded from a planet to a "dwarf planet" or a "minor planet" in astronomy. Astrology continues to classify Pluto as an important and influential planet.

In Greek mythology, Pluto was the God of the Underworld. Pluto and Uranus are the only planets named after Greek gods, while the rest of the planets' names come from Roman gods.

Where is Pluto now?

Where is Pluto in your Astrology chart?

Check out Rick Levine's video on the energy of Pluto and Uranus