About the Four Pillars of Destiny in Japanese Astrology

About the Four Pillars of Destiny

Get deep insight with the elements of Eastern Astrology

By Tarot.com Staff

If you're not familiar with the "Four Pillars of Destiny" used in Eastern divination, you're in for a cosmic treat. This predictive tool is as popular in Japan as Shukuyo Astrology, but it can be used to reveal much different -- and deeper -- insight.

Based on the cycle of the lunar calendar, the Four Pillars of Destiny is a complex forecasting system that originated in ancient China and has been further developed in Japan. It is an amazingly accurate way to describe your character and predict your fate using the interaction of the Yin-Yang and the five elements that were present at your time of birth.

In fact, the name "Four Pillars" refers directly to your moment of birth, which consists of the birth hour, day, month, and year. And just as in Western Astrology, this information is intended to create awareness of both yourself and your fate so you can use it to improve your life. You are not locked into your fate!

Each of the "Four Pillars" has a "Kan-Shi" (the combination of one of 10 "Heavenly Stem" signs based on the Yin or Yang and one of five elements, and "Earthly Branches," also known as animal signs), 12 Fortunes and Decade luck, which are all calculated together to determine your personality traits and fate.

Elements are a key part of the Four Pillars system because Eastern philosophy states that the energy of the universe manifests itself through five elements: Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water. An ideal Four Pillars of Destiny Astrology chart would have a good mix of interacting elements (year element, month element, day element and hour element) to indicate a balanced nature.

Understanding how the Kan-Shi (Heavenly Stems and Earthly Branches) work together is key when it comes to truly learning how to use the Four Pillars of Destiny to foresee your fate.

Because the Four Pillars of Destiny system is so precise and complex, it is best used for examining your personality traits and for making long-term predictions, such as yearly and monthly horoscopes, and it is not used as much for daily predictions.

Now that you understand the basics, you're ready to go deeper into learning about Kan-Shi, the 12 Fortunes and Decade luck, and also how to read a Four Pillars of Destiny Chart.

Learn more about the Four Pillars of Destiny now »

More Insight

The Latest Articles

More Daily Insight

Planet Tracker

Use this guide to see where the planets are right now! Click below to learn more: